About Us

Mission Statement

Ballybay Credit Union Limited is committed to offering its members a real alternative in the financial marketplace. An alternative that is inextricably linked to the credit union operating principles that truly puts people first.

Our History

Ballybay Credit Union Limited was founded on the 9th of February 1968 at a meeting in the vocational school. Under the chairmanship of the Reverend J. T. Turtle the first board of directors was elected. A week later the Credit Union was open for business in an office given over by a local solicitor, Mr PJ O’Gara.

In 1971 we purchased our first premises on Main Street from Mr Samuel Brown for £1000. There we remained until 4th July 1997 when we moved to our current premises at Credit Union House, Main Street, Ballybay.

As at the 30th September 2015

Membership 4002
Loans €5,341,951
Savings €16,423,676
Assets €20,575,029
Staff 4 full time; 2 part time
Volunteers 20

Board of Directors

  • Eddie Barker, Chairperson
  • Peter McGuirk, Vice Chairperson
  • Tommy McCormick, Secretary
  • Angela McEntee
  • Michael Lavelle
  • Jim Kerr
  • Ruairi Ward
  • Michael Gilmour
  • Kyle Wylie
  • Martin McCabe
  • Damien Macklin

Supervisory Committee

  • Fiona McGrath
  • Elsie Carragher
  • Rosaleen Markey


  • Mary A Duffy, Manager
  • Marie O’Neill
  • Rita Moore
  • Ann Lynch
  • Miriam Brennan
  • Susan Carolan
  • Brid Comey-Fitzpatrick

Ballybay Credit Union Ltd

Latest News

Latest News

Notice of Annual General Meeting 2016

December 16th, 2016

Christmas Opening Hours 2016

December 16th, 2016

CU Online Essential Maintenance

July 30th, 2016 Click here to read more news ››

Borrow Today

Try out our loan calculator to see what you can borrow today.

Click here to view the loan calculator.

Join Today

Find out about the benefits of becoming a member and learn how you can join the credit union today.

Click here to learn more.

Ballybay Credit Union Ltd is regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland